"Airline-Approved" Pet Carriers (2026): Under-Seat Sizes by Airline, and the Carriers That Fit
The under-seat carrier limits American, Delta, United, Southwest, Alaska and JetBlue publish, checked Sept 28, 2026, and which soft carriers fit on paper.
Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research
Quick answer
No carrier is approved by every airline, and airlines do not certify brands. On paper, the Petmate Kennel Cab (17 x 10 x 10 in) fits the published limits of American, Delta, United and Southwest; the Mr. Peanut's Gold Series Standard (18 x 11 x 10 in) and Sherpa Original Deluxe Medium (17 x 11 x 10.5 in) fit American's, Delta's and United's. None of our picks fits Alaska's 17 x 11 x 9.5 in or JetBlue's 17 x 12.5 x 8.5 in on paper, so on those airlines you rely on a soft carrier compressing.
At a glance
Our top picks
- 1Top pickPetmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Carrier$19.46 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
The carrier that fits the most airlines' published numbers, for a cat or small dog.
- 2Also considerMr. Peanut's Gold Series Standard Expandable Carrier$69.00 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
A roomier, expandable carrier for the three biggest US airlines.
- 3Also considerSherpa Original Deluxe Carrier (Medium)$69.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
A familiar framed soft carrier that fits American, Delta and United's published sizes.
Side by side
Quick comparison
| Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Carrier | Mr. Peanut's Gold Series Standard Expandable Carrier | Sherpa Original Deluxe Carrier (Medium) | SturdiBag Pro 3.0 (Large) | SturdiBag Pro 3.0 (Medium) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $19.46 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $69.00 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $69.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $142.00 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $125.00 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price |
| Key Pros |
|
|
|
|
|
| Key Cons | -Petmate rates it for pets up to 10 lb | -Best fits pets up to 16 in long, 10 in tall and 15 lb lying down, per Mr. Peanut's | -10.5 in tall on paper: over United's 10 in 737 MAX height and Southwest's 10 in | -18 x 11.5 x 11.5 in per the listing, half an inch over the 18 x 11 x 11 in soft-carrier size on paper | -12 x 11.75 in wide and tall on paper, over most airlines' width and height |
No carrier is approved by every airline, because each airline sets its own under-seat limit and the space varies by aircraft. What you can do is compare a carrier's listed size to the numbers your airline publishes. On paper, the Petmate Kennel Cab fits four of the six US airlines we checked; the Mr. Peanut's Gold Series Standard and Sherpa Original Deluxe Medium fit American, Delta and United.
How we chose: we did not test these carriers; we loaded each airline's own pet page on September 28, 2026, compared its limits to each carrier's listed dimensions, and kept only carriers sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store and in stock that day.
What each airline allows under the seat
All figures are in inches, as each airline states them on its pet page, checked September 28, 2026. Airlines change these pages, so check yours before you book.
| Airline | Soft-sided carrier | Hard-sided carrier | Pets allowed in cabin | Minimum age (domestic) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American | 18 x 11 x 11 (all flights) | 19 x 13 x 9 (mainline); 16 x 12 x 8 (American Eagle) | Cats and dogs | 8 weeks |
| Delta | Recommends 18 x 11 x 11; maximum varies by aircraft | Not stated | Small dogs, cats, household birds | 8 weeks |
| United | 11 x 18 x 11; 10 in tall max on the 737 MAX | 9 x 17.5 x 12 | Cats and dogs | Not stated on the page |
| Southwest | 18 x 10.5 x 10 (its own carrier is 15 x 10 x 10) | Not stated | Cats and dogs, domestic flights only | 8 weeks |
| Alaska | 17 x 11 x 9.5 | Not allowed in the cabin | Dogs, cats, rabbits, small household birds | 8 weeks |
| JetBlue | 17 x 12.5 x 8.5 | Not stated | Small dogs and cats | Not stated on the page |
A few rules on those pages matter as much as the size:
- American says soft-sided carriers are recommended and "can be slightly larger but still need to fit under the seat without having to excessively collapse the kennel." They must have mesh ventilation on three or more sides. On the three-cabin A321T, pet plus carrier must not exceed 20 lb.
- Delta says the maximum "is determined by the aircraft dimensions of your flight" and recommends 18 x 11 x 11 in because "this fits most aircraft types." One pet per kennel, with exceptions for young litters.
- United caps carrier height at 10 in on the Boeing 737 MAX, and on some planes you must sit in a window or aisle seat for the carrier to fit.
- Southwest allows up to two small cats or dogs of the same species in one carrier, and warns that under-seat space varies by seat type, "including aisle seats."
- Alaska allows up to two pets of the same species and similar size per carrier, and does not allow hard-sided kennels in the cabin.
- JetBlue allows one pet per carrier, and the pet and carrier count as your personal item.
Which carriers fit which airline, on paper
This compares each carrier's listed length, width and height to the airline's published soft-carrier size. A "No" means at least one dimension is over the limit before any compression.
| Carrier | Listed size (L x W x H, in) | American / Delta | United | Southwest | Alaska | JetBlue | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Petmate Kennel Cab | 17 x 10 x 10 | Yes | Yes (737 MAX too) | Yes | No (height by 0.5) | No (height) | $19.46 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| Mr. Peanut's Gold Series Standard | 18 x 11 x 10 | Yes | Yes (737 MAX too) | No (width by 0.5) | No (length) | No (length, height) | $69.00 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| Sherpa Original Deluxe, Medium | 17 x 11 x 10.5 | Yes | Yes (not 737 MAX) | No (width, height) | No (height by 1) | No (height) | $69.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| SturdiBag Pro 3.0, Large | 18 x 11.5 x 11.5 | No (by 0.5) | No (by 0.5) | No | No | No | $142.00 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| SturdiBag Pro 3.0, Medium | 15 x 12 x 11.75 | No (width, height) | No (width, height) | No | No | No (height) | $125.00 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
Key point: "Airline approved" on a listing is the brand's wording. None of these six airlines names or approves carrier brands on its pet page; each publishes a size and leaves the gate agent to judge whether your carrier fits under the seat.
That is also why soft carriers exist. Sherpa says the Original Deluxe's spring wire frame lets the rear "be pushed down several inches" to fit under a seat. SturdiBag describes its soft-sided carriers as "flex-height" on its listings, and Mr. Peanut's says its carriers are designed for pets lying down. A carrier a little over on paper may still go under the seat, but the airline decides at the gate, and a pet squashed by a compressed top is not riding comfortably.
For the most airlines: Petmate Kennel Cab
At 17 x 10 x 10 in per the listing, the Petmate Kennel Cab is the only pick within American's, Delta's, United's and Southwest's published soft-carrier sizes, and it stays under United's 10 in height on the 737 MAX. It has a top-loading zippered door, mesh walls and a pad. Petmate rates it for pets up to 10 lb, so it suits a cat or a very small dog.
For more room on the big three: Mr. Peanut's or Sherpa
The Mr. Peanut's Gold Series Standard lists 18 x 11 x 10 in, inside the 18 x 11 x 11 in size American, Delta and United use, and 10 in tall for the 737 MAX. Mr. Peanut's says it best fits pets up to about 16 in long lying down and up to 15 lb, and its title describes it as expandable.
The Sherpa Original Deluxe Medium lists 17 x 11 x 10.5 in, so it fits the same three airlines, except United's 737 MAX on paper. Its top and side openings make it easy to load a reluctant cat.
SturdiBag: extra room, if the top compresses
Both SturdiBag Pro 3.0 sizes are over the common 18 x 11 x 11 in size on paper: the Large by half an inch in width and height, the Medium by an inch in width. SturdiBag's pitch is that the soft top gives, so the height flexes to fit under a seat. SturdiBag also notes that its XL and XXL sizes "are not airline-compliant," which is why we list only the Medium and Large. Buy one if your pet needs the room and you are ready to show the gate agent how it compresses.
Before you book: health, sedation and international trips
Book your pet with the airline early. Every airline above limits the number of pets per flight, and some limit it per cabin.
Do not plan on sedating your pet. American says that, "as recommended by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA)," it does not accept sedated or tranquilized pets, because they are "at a higher risk of respiratory and cardiovascular problems at high altitudes." If your pet is anxious about travel, ask your vet what is safe. This page is not veterinary advice (more on that).
For trips abroad, the USDA APHIS pet travel page says to contact a USDA-accredited veterinarian as soon as you decide to travel. They will help you work out the destination country's entry rules and get a USDA-endorsed health certificate. For dogs coming back into the US, APHIS notes that the CDC is "the primary authority for dog imports." Several airlines also bar in-cabin pets to certain destinations; Alaska, for example, lists all of Europe and Japan.
Once you land, a travel carrier is not a crash restraint in a car. Of the carriers on this page, none is on the Center for Pet Safety certified list. If your carrier will ride in a car often, read our guide to crash-tested dog car harnesses, carriers and crates. For the walk from the car to the terminal, see our picks for no-pull dog harnesses.
The carrier we left out
The Sleepypod Air is on the Center for Pet Safety certified list as a carrier, tested in January 2025 with an 18 lb test dog. On Amazon, though, it was sold only by a third-party seller when we checked, so it did not meet our seller rule. Sleepypod sells it on its own site.
We found no CPSC recall of these carriers in the CPSC recall database. Petmate had a 2025 CPSC recall of Pet Zone toys, which does not involve carriers. Check any brand on our pet product recall page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a carrier that is approved by all airlines?
No. Airlines publish a size limit rather than approving brands, and the limits differ: of the six we checked, Alaska and JetBlue have the smallest. A carrier within the size you are flying, that still lets your pet turn around, is what the airline checks.
What size pet carrier fits under an airline seat?
18 x 11 x 11 in is the soft-carrier size American, Delta and United publish or recommend. Southwest's is 18 x 10.5 x 10 in, Alaska's 17 x 11 x 9.5 in and JetBlue's 17 x 12.5 x 8.5 in, all checked September 28, 2026.
Soft-sided or hard-sided carrier for a flight?
Soft-sided. American and Delta both recommend soft-sided carriers, and Alaska does not allow hard-sided kennels in the cabin at all.
Proof
Sources
Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 28, 2026.
- American Airlines: American Airlines page
- Delta Air Lines: Delta Air Lines page
- United Airlines: Traveling with pets
- Southwest Airlines: Southwest Airlines page
- Alaska Airlines: Pets in cabin
- JetBlue: Traveling with pets
- USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service: USDA APHIS pet travel page
- Center for Pet Safety: Center for Pet Safety certified list
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: CPSC recall database
PetProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. We did not test these carriers; sizes are from the listings, and airline rules change, so check yours before you fly.
The picks
Our picks, in order
Ranked in the order we recommend them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.
Head to head: Sherpa vs SturdiBag Pet Carriers (2026)Petmate Kennel Cab Soft-Sided Carrier
From the listing · not testedThe carrier that fits the most airlines' published numbers, for a cat or small dog.
Pros
- + 17 x 10 x 10 in per the listing: within American, Delta, United and Southwest's published soft-carrier sizes
- + Top-loading zippered door, mesh walls, plush pad and an exterior pocket
- + The least expensive carrier here; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - Petmate rates it for pets up to 10 lb
Mr. Peanut's Gold Series Standard Expandable Carrier
From the listing · not testedA roomier, expandable carrier for the three biggest US airlines.
Pros
- + 18 x 11 x 10 in per the listing: within American, Delta and United's sizes, and under United's 10 in 737 MAX height
- + Self-locking zippers, removable fleece bed on a plywood base, mesh on all sides; expandable, per its title
- + Sold by Mr. Peanut's own store
Cons
- - Best fits pets up to 16 in long, 10 in tall and 15 lb lying down, per Mr. Peanut's
Sherpa Original Deluxe Carrier (Medium)
From the listing · not testedA familiar framed soft carrier that fits American, Delta and United's published sizes.
Pros
- + 17 x 11 x 10.5 in per the listing; Sherpa says the spring wire frame lets the rear push down several inches
- + Top and side entry, locking zippers, washable liner, luggage strap that doubles as a seatbelt pass-through
- + Sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - 10.5 in tall on paper: over United's 10 in 737 MAX height and Southwest's 10 in
SturdiBag Pro 3.0 (Large)
From the listing · not testedFor a pet that needs the extra room, if you trust its soft top to compress.
Pros
- + Soft sides; SturdiBag describes its carriers as flex-height to fit under a seat
- + Dual side openings, safety clips and seatbelt straps, padded handle, side pocket
- + Sold by SturdiBag's maker, Sturdi Products
Cons
- - 18 x 11.5 x 11.5 in per the listing, half an inch over the 18 x 11 x 11 in soft-carrier size on paper
SturdiBag Pro 3.0 (Medium)
From the listing · not testedA short carrier for a small cat; check the width against your airline.
Pros
- + 15 in long, the shortest pick here, per the listing
- + Same dual side openings, safety clips and seatbelt straps as the Large
- + Sold by Sturdi Products
Cons
- - 12 x 11.75 in wide and tall on paper, over most airlines' width and height
Still comparing? Search Amazon
Today's Deals →Quick searches, tagged so you support the site at no extra cost.
Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.




