Calming Dog Beds (2026): What a Donut Bed Can and Can't Do
Five donut-style calming dog beds compared by rim, fill, washing and size, and what the ASPCA says to do about an anxious dog that a bed can't fix.
Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research
Quick answer
A calming dog bed is a round, raised-rim bed with soft fill that a dog can curl into; "calming" is the makers' word, not a treatment. Best Friends by Sheri's Original is the one sold by Amazon.com with published sleeping-surface sizes and a machine-washable build. Bedsure and Western Home are washable whole in smaller sizes, and Furhaven's 36 in donut takes dogs up to 75 lb and is refillable. For real anxiety, the ASPCA says to see your vet first and not to punish the dog.
At a glance
Our top picks
- 1Top pickBest Friends by Sheri Original Calming Donut Dog Bed, Medium 30 in$47.49 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
The donut bed with the clearest sizing and care instructions, for a medium dog that curls up.
- 2Also considerBest Friends by Sheri Original Calming Donut Dog Bed, Small 23 in$34.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
The small version for a toy dog or a cat, washed whole.
- 3Budget optionBedsure Calming Donut Dog Bed, Medium 30 in$34.39 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
A washable-whole donut in a wide size range, if you can size it from the outside diameter.
Side by side
Quick comparison
| Best Friends by Sheri Original Calming Donut Dog Bed, Medium 30 in | Best Friends by Sheri Original Calming Donut Dog Bed, Small 23 in | Bedsure Calming Donut Dog Bed, Medium 30 in | Furhaven Calming Donut Dog Bed, Large 36 in | Western Home Calming Donut Dog Bed, 30 in | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $47.49 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)Check price | $34.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)Check price | $34.39 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)Check price | $45.49 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)Check price | $33.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)Check price |
| Key Pros |
|
|
|
|
|
| Key Cons | -The listing does not mention chewing; a shag cover is not built for a dog that tears fabric | -No removable cover on this size, so the whole bed goes in the washer | -Bedsure does not publish a weight limit or inner sleeping area on this listing | -Furhaven says its donut beds are not suitable for pets with excessive teething or destructive chewing | -Western Home gives weight guidance only for its 20, 24 and 27 in sizes, not the 30 in |
A calming dog bed is a round bed with a raised, stuffed rim that a dog can curl into and rest its head on. For a medium dog, the Best Friends by Sheri Original is the one to start with: it lists its inner sleeping surface and is sold by Amazon.com. "Calming" is the makers' word for that shape. It is not a treatment, and a dog that panics when left alone needs more than a new bed.
How we chose: we did not test these beds; sizes, fill and care come from each maker's listing or site, and every pick was sold by Amazon.com or the brand and in stock on September 28, 2026.
Five donut beds side by side
| Bed | Outside size | Sleeping surface or weight (per maker) | Washing (per maker) | Sold by | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best Friends by Sheri, Medium | 30 x 30 in | 23 in surface, up to 45 lb | Removable shell, machine wash | Amazon.com | $47.49 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC)Check price |
| Best Friends by Sheri, Small | 23 x 23 in | 17 in surface, up to 25 lb | Whole bed, machine wash | Amazon.com | $34.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC)Check price |
| Bedsure, Medium | 30 in | Not stated | Whole bed (XS to M) | Bedsure | $34.39 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC)Check price |
| Furhaven, Large | 36 in, 10 in high | Up to 75 lb | Removable cover | Amazon.com | $45.49 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC)Check price |
| Western Home | 30 in | Not stated for this size | Whole bed | Western Home | $33.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC)Check price |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
The Best Friends by Sheri care rules come from the maker's Original Calming Dog Bed page; the Furhaven chew warning is on Furhaven's calming cuddler page.
What "calming" means on a dog bed
Read the listings side by side and they describe the same thing. Best Friends by Sheri says the "deep, round shape gives pups a sense of security." Bedsure says its raised edge "supports the head and neck" and the round design "helps them feel safe and secure." Furhaven says its bolstered edges provide "a sense of safety for 'cuddlers'." Those are the makers' descriptions of a bed shape, not claims anyone has tested for us to report, and we found no standard for when a bed can be called calming.
So compare what is checkable:
- Rim. Every bed here has a stuffed rim all the way round. That suits a dog that sleeps curled or likes to lean its chin on something. A dog that sleeps stretched flat out will hang off a donut; look at a rectangular bolster bed in our orthopedic dog bed guide instead.
- Fill. Best Friends by Sheri uses high-loft polyfill, Western Home "PP cotton," and Furhaven recycled fill in a zippered liner so you can add more when it flattens. None is foam, so these beds cushion but do not give the firm support a stiff senior dog may need.
- Cover and base. All are faux fur. Bedsure and Western Home list a non-slip base; Best Friends by Sheri lists a water- and dirt-resistant bottom.
If your dog is anxious, start with the vet
A bed is a place to sleep. It does not treat anxiety, and the signs owners buy these beds for can have other causes. The ASPCA's separation anxiety page lists what it looks like when a dog is left alone: urinating or defecating, barking or howling, chewing, digging, and escape attempts that "can result in self-injury and household destruction." It says:
- "Before attempting behavior modification for separation anxiety, please see your dog's veterinarian to rule out medical issues."
- Medication "can be very helpful, especially for severe cases," and you should "always consult with your veterinarian or a veterinary behaviorist before giving your dog any type of medication for a behavior problem."
- For a desensitization plan, consult a Certified Applied Animal Behaviorist or "a board-certified veterinary behaviorist (Dip ACVB)."
- "Do not scold or punish your dog. Anxious behaviors are not the result of disobedience or spite. They are distress responses!"
The ASPCA also suggests food puzzle toys when you leave, noting that chewing and licking "have been shown to have a calming effect on dogs." A comfortable bed in a quiet corner fits alongside that plan; it does not replace it. If your dog shows the signs above, ask your vet first (why we say that).
Key point: the ASPCA says a crate helps some dogs "if they learn that the crate is their safe place," but "for other dogs, the crate can cause added stress and anxiety." If your dog pants heavily, drools or tries to escape in a crate, it suggests a room behind a baby gate instead. Our dog crate guide covers sizing if the crate does work for your dog; a donut bed in the crate is one way to soften it, if the dog does not chew it.
Chewing: the warning most listings leave out
Furhaven is the only maker here that prints a chew warning: its donut beds are "not suitable for pets with excessive teething or destructive chewing behavior." The Best Friends by Sheri, Bedsure and Western Home listings do not mention chewing either way. None of them calls its bed chew-proof or chew-resistant.
That matters most for the dogs these beds are marketed to. The ASPCA's destructive chewing page says puppies' teething phase "usually ends by six months of age," and that dogs with separation anxiety "usually only chew when left alone or chew most intensely when left alone." It advises removing things a dog should not chew from its confinement area when you cannot supervise. A plush bed with loose fill may be one of those things for a puppy or a dog that shreds when alone. Give that dog an appropriate chew instead; our chew toy guide for aggressive chewers is a place to start.
How to size a donut bed
A donut's outside diameter includes the rim, so the flat part is smaller than the headline size. Best Friends by Sheri is the only maker here that publishes it: a 17 in sleeping surface on the 23 in Small, 23 in on the 30 in Medium.
- Measure your dog lying down. Western Home's listing says to "measure the size of your pet before buying." For a dog that sleeps stretched out, Big Barker's size guide says to measure "from your dog's nose to base of tail"; compare that with the flat area, not the outside size.
- Use the weight limits as a ceiling. Best Friends by Sheri: Small up to 25 lb, Medium up to 45 lb. Furhaven: 36 in Large for dogs up to 75 lb. Western Home: 20 in up to 11 lb, 24 in up to 25 lb, 27 in up to 35 lb.
- Between sizes, think about how the dog sleeps. A tight curler can use a smaller bed than a dog that sprawls.
For an older dog with stiff joints, a donut's soft polyfill is not the same as foam. The AVMA's arthritis signs and a foam comparison are in our orthopedic bed guide and our senior dog essentials.
Washing a faux-fur donut
Faux fur holds hair and smells, so check how each bed comes apart before you buy:
- Best Friends by Sheri: the 30 in has a removable zipper shell, "machine wash, gentle cycle. Tumble dry on low heat," per the maker. The 23 in Small is washed whole.
- Bedsure: "Smaller sizes (XS–M,XL) are fully washable, while larger sizes (L) feature a removable, machine-washable cover," per the listing.
- Furhaven: zippered, removable cover, fully machine washable, per the listing; the fill sits in a separate zippered liner.
- Western Home: put the whole bed in the washer, dry on low heat, wash separately, and shake it back into shape.
For accidents, a waterproof pad under the bed helps; see our washable and disposable pee pad guide. For urine on the floor or rug around it, our enzyme cleaner guide explains what to use.
Two brands we left out
Our Amazon search for Frisco donut beds returned no Frisco listings, so there was nothing to check. Donut beds from JOLLYVOGUE, BedStill and Bedfolks were sold by storefronts whose names did not match the brand, so they did not meet our seller rule. None of the five brands above appears on our pet product recall list as of September 28, 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do calming dog beds actually work?
"Calming" describes the round, raised-rim shape, not a tested effect. The makers say the shape helps a dog feel secure; for a dog with real anxiety, the ASPCA says to see your vet first and work on the behavior with a professional.
Can a calming bed fix separation anxiety?
No. The ASPCA treats separation anxiety with behavior modification, sometimes medication from a vet, and no punishment. A bed can be part of a comfortable resting spot, but it is not the treatment.
Are donut beds safe for puppies that chew?
Furhaven says its donut beds are not suitable for pets with excessive teething or destructive chewing, and none of these beds is sold as chew-proof. The ASPCA says teething chewing usually ends by six months; until then, give the puppy appropriate chews and remove things it should not chew when you are away.
What size calming bed should I buy?
Measure your dog lying down and compare it with the bed's flat sleeping area, not the outside diameter. Best Friends by Sheri lists a 23 in sleeping surface on its 30 in Medium, for dogs up to 45 lb.
Proof
Sources
Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 28, 2026.
- bestfriendsbysheri.com: Original Calming Dog Bed page
- furhaven.com: Furhaven's calming cuddler page
- ASPCA: Separation anxiety
- ASPCA: Destructive chewing
- bigbarker.com: Big Barker's size guide
PetProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. We did not test these beds; sizes, fill and care are the makers' own. This guide is for general information and is not veterinary advice.
The picks
Our picks, in order
Ranked in the order we recommend them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.
Best Friends by Sheri Original Calming Donut Dog Bed, Medium 30 in
From the listing · not testedThe donut bed with the clearest sizing and care instructions, for a medium dog that curls up.
Pros
- + 30 x 30 in with a 23 in sleeping surface, for dogs up to 45 lb, per the listing
- + Raised-edge bolsters and high-loft polyfill in shag faux fur
- + Removable zipper shell, machine wash gentle and tumble dry low, per the maker; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - The listing does not mention chewing; a shag cover is not built for a dog that tears fabric
Best Friends by Sheri Original Calming Donut Dog Bed, Small 23 in
From the listing · not testedThe small version for a toy dog or a cat, washed whole.
Pros
- + 23 x 23 in with a 17 in sleeping surface, for cats and small dogs up to 25 lb, per the listing
- + The whole bed is machine washable; water- and dirt-resistant bottom
- + Sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - No removable cover on this size, so the whole bed goes in the washer
Bedsure Calming Donut Dog Bed, Medium 30 in
From the listing · not testedA washable-whole donut in a wide size range, if you can size it from the outside diameter.
Pros
- + Raised rim for the head and neck, faux fur, non-slip base, per Bedsure
- + Fabrics certified to OEKO-TEX Standard 100, per the listing
- + XS to M sizes are fully machine washable; sold by Bedsure
Cons
- - Bedsure does not publish a weight limit or inner sleeping area on this listing
Furhaven Calming Donut Dog Bed, Large 36 in
From the listing · not testedThe larger donut here, and the one you can top up when the fill flattens.
Pros
- + 36 in across and 10 in high, for dogs up to 75 lb, per the listing
- + Refillable recycled filling through a zippered interior liner
- + Zippered, removable, machine-washable cover; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - Furhaven says its donut beds are not suitable for pets with excessive teething or destructive chewing
Western Home Calming Donut Dog Bed, 30 in
From the listing · not testedA plain washable donut; measure your dog, as Western Home says, before picking a size.
Pros
- + Faux fur with PP cotton fill and an anti-slip dotted bottom, per the listing
- + The whole bed is machine washable; tumble dry low
- + Sold by Western Home, the brand's store
Cons
- - Western Home gives weight guidance only for its 20, 24 and 27 in sizes, not the 30 in
Still comparing? Search Amazon
Today's Deals →Quick searches, tagged so you support the site at no extra cost.
Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.




