Cat Water Fountains (2026): Filters, Cleaning, and Materials
Nine cat water fountains compared by capacity, material and filter schedule, with each maker's own cleaning rules and what Cornell says fountains can and can't do.
Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research
Quick answer
Cornell's Feline Health Center says some cats drink more from a fountain, but preferences vary. If you buy one, the Catit Flower Fountain is a simple 3 L plastic pick, the PetSafe Drinkwell Pagoda is ceramic, and the PETLIBRO 3 L and PetSafe Drinkwell 360 are stainless steel. Whatever you choose, the cleaning and filter schedule matters more than the material: most makers here say to change the filter every 2 to 4 weeks.
At a glance
Our top picks
- 1From the listing · not tested
A compact, adjustable plastic fountain with cheap, easy-to-find filters.
- 2Also considerPetSafe Drinkwell Platinum Cat Water Fountain, 168 oz$55.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
For a multi-cat home that wants fewer refills.
- 3Also considerPetSafe Drinkwell Pagoda Ceramic Fountain, 70 oz$90.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
The ceramic pick for owners who want no plastic in the bowl.
Side by side
Quick comparison
| Catit Flower Fountain, 3 L | PetSafe Drinkwell Platinum Cat Water Fountain, 168 oz | PetSafe Drinkwell Pagoda Ceramic Fountain, 70 oz | PetSafe Ceramic Pet Fountain, 60 oz | PetSafe Drinkwell Stainless 360 Multi-Pet Fountain, 128 oz | PetSafe Seaside Stainless Fountain, 60 oz | PETLIBRO Stainless Steel Cat Water Fountain, 3 L | PETLIBRO Dockstream Cordless Fountain, 2.5 L | Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Fountain | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $32.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $55.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $90.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $65.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $81.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $39.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $34.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $62.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $59.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price |
| Key Pros |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Key Cons | -Plastic; Catit says to replace the filter every 30 days | -The listing does not name the material; it is the tallest unit here at about 16 in | -7 lb; carbon and foam filters to replace | -60 oz is small for more than one or two cats | -Larger footprint for a multi-pet home | -Small capacity; for cats and small dogs, per the listing | -PETLIBRO asks for a new filter every two weeks for one pet, plus a weekly wipe | -In sensor mode water flows for 42 seconds only when a pet is detected | -The listing gives both 60 oz and 96 oz; check the box |
Cornell's Feline Health Center says some cats drink more when given a fountain, but that "individual preferences among cats for these varies." A fountain is worth trying if your cat likes running water; it is not a fix for a cat that will not drink. This guide compares nine fountains by capacity and material, then sets out each maker's own filter and cleaning schedule, which is the part that decides whether the water stays fresh.
How we chose: we did not test these fountains; each is sold by Amazon.com, and materials, capacities and care rules come from the listing or the maker's own pages.
How much water a cat needs
The Cornell Feline Health Center's hydration page (last updated 2021) says cats need "about 4 ounces of water per five pounds of lean body weight per day, so the average 10-pound cat should drink about one cup of water per day." Cats that eat wet food, "which can contain up to 80% water, may drink less."
Cornell's list of ways to help a cat drink more puts fountains alongside simpler steps:
- "Always having fresh water available in places that they can easily access."
- Making sure no cat or dog in the house is keeping another cat away from the water bowl.
- "Feeding wet food and/or adding water to food."
Cornell lists signs of dehydration including "lethargy, weakness, poor appetite, dry mucous membranes." If you see those, or your cat suddenly drinks much more or much less, call your vet rather than buying a gadget.
Nine fountains by material and capacity
| Fountain | Bowl material | Capacity | Filter change (maker) | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Catit Flower Fountain | BPA-free plastic | 3 L | Every 30 days | $32.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| PetSafe Drinkwell Platinum | Not stated on listing | 168 oz | 2–4 weeks | $55.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| PetSafe Drinkwell Pagoda | Ceramic | 70 oz | 2–4 weeks | $90.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| PetSafe Ceramic Fountain | Ceramic | 60 oz | Not stated | $65.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| PetSafe Drinkwell Stainless 360 | Stainless steel | 128 oz | 2–4 weeks | $81.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| PetSafe Seaside Stainless | Stainless steel | 60 oz | Not stated | $39.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| PETLIBRO Stainless 3 L | 304 stainless steel | 3 L | Every 2 weeks, one pet | $34.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| PETLIBRO Dockstream Cordless | Stainless tray, ABS tank | 2.5 L | Every 2 weeks, one pet | $62.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless | 18/8 stainless steel | 60 or 96 oz (listing gives both) | 2–4 weeks | $59.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
Filter intervals come from PetSafe's Drinkwell filter page ("each filter provides 2-4 weeks of filtration"), PetSafe's 360 filter page, Catit's filter page ("Replace every 30 days"), PETLIBRO's filter guidance and Pioneer Pet's FAQ.
Stainless, ceramic or plastic
We report only what each listing says about its material:
- Stainless steel: PetSafe says the Drinkwell 360's steel is "hygienic, durable, and rust and scratch resistant." PETLIBRO says its 304 stainless "resists rust, corrosion, and odors." Pioneer Pet's listing calls its Raindrop 18/8 stainless and dishwasher safe.
- Ceramic: PetSafe calls the Pagoda's ceramic "scratch-resistant" and says its 60 oz ceramic fountain "doesn't have lead." Ceramic is heavy: the Pagoda weighs about 7 lb on the listing, which makes it hard to tip but awkward at the sink.
- Plastic: Catit says the Flower Fountain is made of BPA-free materials. PETLIBRO's cordless model pairs a stainless drinking tray with a BPA-free ABS tank.
Key point: none of the makers here says a given material makes a cat drink more. Pick the one you will actually wash on its maker's schedule.
Cleaning: each maker's schedule
The makers do not agree, so follow the one for the fountain you own.
- Pioneer Pet recommends "cleaning all Pioneer Pet fountains once a week with a mild dish soap and warm water," replacing filters every 2 to 4 weeks, and says "the pump should be fully disassembled and cleaned at least once a month." It suggests filtered or distilled water to avoid hard-water buildup.
- PETLIBRO recommends "replacing the filters every two weeks" with one pet and "a quick wipe once a week while thoroughly cleaning all components with dish soap," more often with more pets.
- Catit's Flower Fountain cleaning guide says the pump should be taken apart and cleaned "on a biweekly basis," and that parts can be washed with warm water, a soft sponge and dish soap, but "never use aggressive detergents or an abrasive sponge."
- PetSafe's cleaning instructions start: "Unplug the fountain. Dump the water. Disassemble the fountain." PetSafe says its fountains are "dishwasher safe except for the motor and cord," and to hand-wash if your dishwasher runs hot.
Pro tip: set a phone reminder the day you install a fresh filter. PETLIBRO's app-connected fountains can send filter and cleaning reminders; the others rely on you remembering.
Cords and power
Every corded fountain here has a pump that sits in water, so treat the cord as part of the product:
- Unplug before you take it apart. That is PetSafe's first cleaning step.
- Extension cords: Catit's listing says "if an extension cord is necessary, connection must be watertight and dust proof."
- Power cuts: PetSafe says the Pagoda's open bowl and the Seaside's deep reservoir leave water available if the power goes out.
- Cord chewers: PETLIBRO's Dockstream Cordless keeps its electrical parts in the base and runs on a battery; PETLIBRO says this leaves "no exposed cord" for curious pets.
Which one to buy
- One cat, simplest setup: the Catit Flower Fountain. Three flow settings, a 3 L bowl, and filters Catit asks you to change every 30 days.
- You want ceramic: the PetSafe Drinkwell Pagoda, or the smaller, quieter PetSafe 60 oz ceramic for one cat.
- You want stainless: the PETLIBRO 3 L for one or two cats, the Drinkwell Stainless 360 for several.
- No outlet nearby: the PETLIBRO Dockstream Cordless.
- Several cats, fewest refills: the Drinkwell Platinum at 168 oz.
Recalls: we found no CPSC recall of any fountain on this page when we checked in September 2026. See our pet recall list before buying secondhand.
Left out: Veken's fountains were sold by a third-party company name rather than a Veken store, so they have no card here. The plastic Pioneer Pet Raindrop listing calls the fountain both plastic and stainless steel, so we could not report its material.
For brushing, see our deshedding brush guide; for time outdoors, see escape-proof cat harnesses.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do cat water fountains make cats drink more?
Some cats, not all. Cornell's Feline Health Center says "some cats increase their intake of water when provided with water fountains, but individual preferences among cats for these varies."
How often should I change a cat fountain filter?
Follow your fountain's maker: PETLIBRO says every two weeks for one pet, PetSafe and Pioneer Pet say every 2 to 4 weeks, and Catit says every 30 days. Change it sooner if it is clogged with hair.
How often should I clean a cat water fountain?
Pioneer Pet says once a week with mild dish soap and warm water, with the pump taken apart at least monthly. Catit says to clean the Flower Fountain pump every two weeks; PetSafe says to unplug before you start.
Is stainless steel better than plastic for a cat fountain?
No maker here says it changes how much a cat drinks. Stainless and ceramic resist scratches, per PetSafe and PETLIBRO; plastic is lighter to carry to the sink. Choose the one you will clean on schedule.
How much water should my cat drink a day?
Cornell says about 4 ounces per 5 pounds of lean body weight, so about one cup for a 10-pound cat, and less from the bowl if the cat eats wet food.
This guide is general information, not veterinary advice (read more). If your cat's drinking changes, ask your vet.
Proof
Sources
Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 28, 2026.
- vet.cornell.edu: Hydration page
- petsafe.com: PetSafe's Drinkwell filter page
- petsafe.com: PetSafe's 360 filter page
- catit.com: Catit's filter page
- petlibro.com: PETLIBRO's filter guidance
- pioneerpet.com: Pioneer Pet's FAQ
- catit.com: Flower Fountain cleaning guide
- petsafe.com: CKPH page
PetProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. We did not test these fountains; capacities, materials and care rules are the makers' own.
The picks
Our picks, in order
Ranked in the order we recommend them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.
Head to head: Catit Flower vs PETLIBRO Cat Fountain (2026)Catit Flower Fountain, 3 L
From the listing · not testedA compact, adjustable plastic fountain with cheap, easy-to-find filters.
Pros
- + 3 L capacity in a 9.0 x 8.3 x 7.7 in footprint, per the listing
- + Three flow settings; triple action filter included
- + BPA-free materials, per Catit; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - Plastic; Catit says to replace the filter every 30 days
PetSafe Drinkwell Platinum Cat Water Fountain, 168 oz
From the listing · not testedFor a multi-cat home that wants fewer refills.
Pros
- + 168 oz, the largest capacity here, with a built-in reservoir
- + Free-falling stream with adjustable flow
- + Top-shelf dishwasher safe, per the listing
Cons
- - The listing does not name the material; it is the tallest unit here at about 16 in
PetSafe Drinkwell Pagoda Ceramic Fountain, 70 oz
From the listing · not testedThe ceramic pick for owners who want no plastic in the bowl.
Pros
- + Scratch-resistant ceramic, per PetSafe
- + Open bowl, so water is still reachable if the power goes out
- + Two streams on a tiered design PetSafe says suits senior pets
Cons
- - 7 lb; carbon and foam filters to replace
PetSafe Ceramic Pet Fountain, 60 oz
From the listing · not testedA smaller, quieter ceramic fountain for one cat.
Pros
- + Ceramic that PetSafe says contains no lead
- + Bubbling flow PetSafe calls whisper-quiet, for shy or timid pets
- + Top-rack dishwasher safe except the pump
Cons
- - 60 oz is small for more than one or two cats
PetSafe Drinkwell Stainless 360 Multi-Pet Fountain, 128 oz
From the listing · not testedThe big stainless fountain for several cats.
Pros
- + Stainless steel that PetSafe says is rust and scratch resistant
- + One to five streams; twist the top to adjust flow
- + Three carbon filters included
Cons
- - Larger footprint for a multi-pet home
PetSafe Seaside Stainless Fountain, 60 oz
From the listing · not testedA compact stainless fountain for one cat.
Pros
- + Stainless construction, 60 oz, drink from the tower or the bowl
- + Deep reservoir keeps water available during power outages, per PetSafe
- + Two filters and the pump included
Cons
- - Small capacity; for cats and small dogs, per the listing
PETLIBRO Stainless Steel Cat Water Fountain, 3 L
From the listing · not testedA mid-size stainless fountain with a published noise figure.
Pros
- + 304 stainless steel, per the listing
- + 101 oz / 3 L; adjustable flow; runs below 30 dB, per PETLIBRO
- + Filter and pre-filter sponge; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - PETLIBRO asks for a new filter every two weeks for one pet, plus a weekly wipe
PETLIBRO Dockstream Cordless Fountain, 2.5 L
From the listing · not testedFor a spot with no outlet, or a cat that chews cords.
Pros
- + Runs on a 5,000 mAh battery for up to 10 days in sensor mode, per PETLIBRO
- + Electrical parts stay in the base, away from the water tank
- + Removable stainless tray over a BPA-free ABS tank
Cons
- - In sensor mode water flows for 42 seconds only when a pet is detected
Pioneer Pet Raindrop Stainless Steel Fountain
From the listing · not testedA low, wide stainless fountain from a maker with clear care instructions.
Pros
- + 18/8 stainless steel, dishwasher safe, per the listing
- + Replaceable charcoal filter
- + Pioneer Pet publishes a weekly cleaning routine
Cons
- - The listing gives both 60 oz and 96 oz; check the box
Still comparing? Search Amazon
Today's Deals →Quick searches, tagged so you support the site at no extra cost.
Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.








