Washable vs Disposable Pee Pads (2026): Leak-Proof Picks for Puppies and Senior Dogs
Seven dog pee pads compared by layers, size, pack count and washing care, with ASPCA and AVMA guidance on house training and on accidents in older dogs.
Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research
Quick answer
For a puppy, a disposable pad with a plastic border on all four sides, such as the Amazon Basics 22 x 22 in pad, is the simple start; for a large dog or a crate, step up to the 28 x 34 in size. Washable pads like the Pet Parents Pawtect cut the trash but need a spare in the wash. If an older dog that was house trained starts having accidents, see your vet first: the ASPCA calls ruling out a medical cause the first step.
At a glance
Our top picks
- 1Top pickAmazon Basics Leak-Proof Pee Pads, Regular 22 x 22 in, 100 Count$19.20 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
The plain, bulk disposable pad to start house training a small or medium puppy.
- 2Also considerAmazon Basics Heavy Duty Pee Pads, X-Large 28 x 34 in, 50 Count$28.86 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
The size to buy for a large puppy, a crate floor or a senior dog's sleeping area.
- 3Budget optionFour Paws Wee-Wee Superior Performance Pads, 22 x 23 in, 30 Count$15.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)From the listing · not tested
A quilted six-layer pad from a long-running brand, in a small pack to try first.
Side by side
Quick comparison
| Amazon Basics Leak-Proof Pee Pads, Regular 22 x 22 in, 100 Count | Amazon Basics Heavy Duty Pee Pads, X-Large 28 x 34 in, 50 Count | Four Paws Wee-Wee Superior Performance Pads, 22 x 23 in, 30 Count | Glad for Pets Activated Carbon Training Pads, 23 x 23 in, 100 Count | Pet Parents Pawtect Washable Pee Pads, 24 x 36 in, 2-Pack | Amazon Basics Washable Puppy Pads, 2-Pack | Eterish Reusable Washable Pee Pads, 36 x 41 in, 2-Pack | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $19.20 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $28.86 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $15.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $29.98 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $22.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $10.39 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price | $14.44 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC (details)Check price |
| Key Pros |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Key Cons | -Standard absorbency; small for a large dog | -Takes more floor space than a small dog needs | -30-count pack runs out quickly in the first weeks | -Black carbon core makes it harder to see what the dog left | -The listing does not publish washing instructions; check the tag | -23.8 x 18.1 in: the smallest pad here | -Eterish warns that claws and sharp objects can cause leaks |
A disposable pee pad is the easy start for a puppy, and a washable pad makes sense once you know you will use pads for months, for example for a senior dog. For most puppies, buy a disposable with a plastic border on all four sides, such as the Amazon Basics 22 x 22 in; for a large dog or a crate, the 28 x 34 in XL; for less trash, two Pet Parents Pawtect washable pads so one is always clean.
How we chose: we did not test these pads; layers, sizes and claims come from each maker's listing, and every pick was sold by Amazon.com or the brand and in stock in September 2026.
This page covers what the layers and "attractant" claims mean, how washable pads compare, and what the ASPCA and the AVMA say about house training and accidents in older dogs.
Seven pee pads compared
| Pad | Type | Size | Layers (per maker) | Per pack | Attractant | Amazon price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Basics Regular | Disposable | 22 x 22 in | 5 | 100 | Yes | $19.20 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| Amazon Basics XL Heavy Duty | Disposable | 28 x 34 in | 5 | 50 | Yes | $28.86 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| Four Paws Wee-Wee | Disposable | 22 x 23 in | 6 | 30 | Yes, unscented | $15.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| Glad for Pets Activated Carbon | Disposable | 23 x 23 in | 6, carbon core | 100 | Pheromone, per Glad | $29.98 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| Pet Parents Pawtect | Washable | 24 x 36 in | Not stated | 2 | No | $22.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| Amazon Basics Washable | Washable | 23.8 x 18.1 in | Not stated | 2 | No | $10.39 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
| Eterish Reusable | Washable | 36 x 41 in | Not stated | 2 | No | $14.44 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 2:13 PM UTC)Check price |
Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details
Disposable or washable?
Disposable pads are a stack of layers: a quick-dry top sheet, an absorbent core that turns liquid into gel, and a plastic backing. You lift the whole pad, fold it and throw it away. That suits the first weeks of house training, when a puppy may use several a day and you want nothing to wash.
Washable pads are fabric on top of a waterproof layer. You shake or rinse the mess off, wash the pad and put down the spare. You buy them once and keep washing them, so there is less trash. They also make sense under a senior dog's bed, where you want something that lies flat and stays put.
The catch with washables is care. Only two of the three listings here say how to wash them:
- Amazon Basics Washable: machine-washable, per the listing; a set of two so you can switch while one is in the wash.
- Eterish: survives "many washes" in the machine, per Eterish, with a lower dryer temperature or air drying. Eterish also says to trim your dog's nails, because claws can puncture the waterproof layer.
- Pet Parents Pawtect: the listing covers the fabric and the StickyPaw backing but not washing. Follow the care tag.
What the layers and borders mean
Every disposable here claims five or six layers. The number matters less than two details you can check on the listing: the size of the absorbent center and the edge.
- Absorbent center: Amazon Basics is unusually specific. Its 22 x 22 in pad has a 19 x 19 in center and a 1.65 in border; the XL has a 23.6 x 29.5 in center.
- Edges: Amazon Basics puts a plastic border on all four sides; Glad seals and quilts all four edges; Four Paws quilts the top to cut wet-paw tracking.
- Odor: only the Glad pad lists an activated-carbon core, which Glad says traps urine odor instead of masking it.
For a large dog, size decides more than layers. A dog that squats over the edge of a 22 in pad will wet the floor whatever the pad absorbs, so the 28 x 34 in XL or the 36 x 41 in Eterish is the safer buy.
Do attractant pads work?
Three disposables here list an attractant: Amazon Basics and Four Paws call it built-in, and Glad calls its version a pheromone scent. These are the makers' claims; none publishes a test we could check.
What the ASPCA's house-training advice stresses is you, not the pad. "Whether your goal is for your dog to eliminate on pee pads indoors or to do it outside, you have to really throw a party for her when she succeeds," it says. It also says not to rub a dog's face in an accident: it makes the dog fear you, and the dog cannot connect the punishment to where it went.
If the plan is to move a puppy outdoors later, keep the pad in one spot near the door so the routine is easy to shift.
Pro tip: clean accidents that miss the pad with an enzymatic cleaner, not an ammonia-based one. In its advice on urine marking in cats, the ASPCA says urine contains ammonia, so cleaning with ammonia can attract a cat back to the same spot to urinate again; the same logic applies to a puppy. Our enzyme cleaner guide compares six.
Pads for a senior dog
Pads are also a tool for older dogs, but the order matters. When a house-trained older dog starts having accidents, the ASPCA's page on older dogs says the "first step is to take him to his veterinarian to determine whether there is a specific medical cause." It lists sensory decline, conditions that affect mobility, cognitive dysfunction and endocrine disorders among the medical problems that can contribute to house soiling.
The AVMA lists house soiling among the common signs of cognitive dysfunction in senior pets, and says senior pets should see a veterinarian twice a year or more.
Once your vet has looked at the cause, the ASPCA suggests a dog walker or an indoor spot such as newspapers, a dog litter box or potty pads if you cannot get the dog out often enough. For that use:
- Under a bed or in a crate: a large washable pad such as the Eterish 36 x 41 in lies flat and has a non-slip back.
- For odor between changes: the Glad carbon-core pad.
- For a big senior dog: the Amazon Basics 28 x 34 in XL in heavy-duty absorbency.
An older dog that struggles to get up may also need a better bed; see our orthopedic dog bed guide. This page is not veterinary advice (why); ask your vet about new accidents or incontinence.
Bottom line: start a puppy on the Amazon Basics regular pad, move a large dog to the XL, and switch to two washable pads once pads are a long-term part of your routine. Check any pad brand against our pet product recall list before you stock up; none of these brands appears on it as of September 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are washable pee pads better than disposable ones?
For long-term use, they cut trash, but you take on the laundry and need a spare so one can be in the wash. For the first messy weeks of house training, disposables are simpler; compare today's prices in the table.
What size pee pad does my dog need?
Big enough that the dog can squat with all four feet on it. The regular 22 x 22 in size has a 19 x 19 in absorbent center, per Amazon Basics; for a large breed or a crate floor, the 28 x 34 in XL or a 36 x 41 in washable pad.
How do I stop my dog from tearing up pee pads?
Put the pad in a holder or use a washable pad with a non-slip back, such as the Amazon Basics Washable with its silicone base. Supervise a puppy that chews pads, and ask your vet if a dog swallows pieces.
Why did my older dog start peeing in the house?
It can have a medical cause. The ASPCA names sensory decline, mobility problems, cognitive dysfunction and endocrine disorders, and says the first step is a veterinary exam before retraining or using pads.
Proof
Sources
Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 28, 2026.
- ASPCA: ASPCA's house-training advice
- American Veterinary Medical Association: AVMA
- ASPCA: Urine marking cats
- ASPCA: ASPCA's page on older dogs
PetProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. We did not test these pads; specifications are the makers' own. This guide is for general information and is not veterinary advice.
The picks
Our picks, in order
Ranked in the order we recommend them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.
Head to head: Nature's Miracle vs Rocco & Roxie (2026)Amazon Basics Leak-Proof Pee Pads, Regular 22 x 22 in, 100 Count
From the listing · not testedThe plain, bulk disposable pad to start house training a small or medium puppy.
Pros
- + 5-layer pad with a core that turns liquid into gel, per the listing
- + Plastic border on all four sides; 19 x 19 in absorbent center
- + Built-in attractant; FSC-certified materials; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - Standard absorbency; small for a large dog
Amazon Basics Heavy Duty Pee Pads, X-Large 28 x 34 in, 50 Count
From the listing · not testedThe size to buy for a large puppy, a crate floor or a senior dog's sleeping area.
Pros
- + 28 x 34 in with a 23.6 x 29.5 in absorbent center, per the listing
- + Heavy-duty absorbency, 5 layers, plastic border on all four sides
- + Sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - Takes more floor space than a small dog needs
Four Paws Wee-Wee Superior Performance Pads, 22 x 23 in, 30 Count
From the listing · not testedA quilted six-layer pad from a long-running brand, in a small pack to try first.
Pros
- + 6 layers with a leak-proof backing, per Four Paws
- + Oversized quilted top meant to cut wet-paw tracking
- + Unscented, with a built-in attractant; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - 30-count pack runs out quickly in the first weeks
Glad for Pets Activated Carbon Training Pads, 23 x 23 in, 100 Count
From the listing · not testedThe disposable to pick if smell is the main complaint.
Pros
- + 6 layers including an activated-carbon core for odor, per the listing
- + Quilted, sealed edges on all four sides
- + Pheromone attractant, per Glad; sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - Black carbon core makes it harder to see what the dog left
Pet Parents Pawtect Washable Pee Pads, 24 x 36 in, 2-Pack
From the listing · not testedA reusable pad in quiet colors, sold by the brand, with a spare for wash day.
Pros
- + Two pads, one tan and one grey, 24 x 36 in
- + Wicking top fabric, non-slip backing, triple-stitched binding, per Pet Parents
- + Sold by Pet Parents
Cons
- - The listing does not publish washing instructions; check the tag
Amazon Basics Washable Puppy Pads, 2-Pack
From the listing · not testedThe low-cost way to try washable pads in a crate or small pen.
Pros
- + Machine-washable, leak-proof, per the listing
- + Silicone base keeps the pad from sliding
- + Sold by Amazon.com
Cons
- - 23.8 x 18.1 in: the smallest pad here
Eterish Reusable Washable Pee Pads, 36 x 41 in, 2-Pack
From the listing · not testedThe largest pad here, for a big dog or a whole pen floor.
Pros
- + 36 x 41 in, holds up to 8 cups of liquid, per Eterish
- + Non-slip; low-heat dryer or air dry
- + Sold by Eterish
Cons
- - Eterish warns that claws and sharp objects can cause leaks
Still comparing? Search Amazon
Today's Deals →Quick searches, tagged so you support the site at no extra cost.
Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.






