Skip to content
Food & Feeding9 min read6 products compared

Automatic Pet Feeders (2026): Timed, App and Microchip Feeders for Cats and Dogs

Six timed, app and microchip pet feeders compared by portion size, battery backup and kibble limits, with what AAHA and APOP say about portions and weight.

By the PetProofLab Editorial TeamSeptember 28, 2026How we research

Independently chosen. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases: if you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How we research

Quick answer

For one pet on dry food, buy the PETLIBRO Granary: the button model runs on USB-C with three D batteries as backup, and the Wi-Fi model adds app scheduling. For the lowest-cost timed feeder with battery backup, the WOPET 3L lists its kibble range as 2 to 15 mm. In a home where one cat steals another's food or one pet is on a prescription diet, the SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder opens only for the pet whose microchip or tag you register. AAHA's 2021 guidelines call automated feeders useful for controlling how much a pet eats; APOP's 2022 survey found 59% of dogs and 61% of cats overweight or obese.

At a glance

Our top picks

  1. 1
    Top pickPETLIBRO Granary Automatic Pet Feeder, 5L, Button$75.98 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)
    From the listing · not tested

    The timed feeder to buy for one pet on dry food if you want battery backup and no Wi-Fi.

  2. 2
    Also considerPETLIBRO Granary Automatic Pet Feeder, 5L, Wi-Fi$79.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)
    From the listing · not tested

    The app version of the Granary, for owners who want feeding records and remote changes.

  3. 3
    Budget optionWOPET Automatic Cat Feeder, 3L$24.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:57 PM UTC (details)
    From the listing · not tested

    A small, low-cost timed feeder for a cat or small dog, with a stated kibble size range.

Calico cat crouched beside a steel bowl of dry kibble, striped with sunlight through blinds

Side by side

Quick comparison

 PETLIBRO Granary Automatic Pet Feeder, 5L, ButtonPETLIBRO Granary Automatic Pet Feeder, 5L, Wi-FiWOPET Automatic Cat Feeder, 3LPetSafe Smart Feed Automatic Pet Feeder, 6LSureFeed Microchip Pet FeederPETLIBRO RFID Automatic Cat Feeder
Price$75.98 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)$79.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)$24.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:57 PM UTC (details)$120.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)$199.00 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)$139.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)
Key Pros
  • +1 to 6 meals a day, up to 50 portions of 20 ml each, set on the feeder's LED panel, per the listing
  • +USB-C adapter plus three D batteries (not included) as backup power
  • +Up to 10 meals a day and 1 to 48 portions of 1/12 cup each, set in the PETLIBRO app, per the listing
  • +2.4 GHz and 5 GHz Wi-Fi; phone alerts when the tank is empty, food jams or the battery is low
  • +Up to 6 meals a day and 8 portions per meal, about 15 g per portion, per the listing
  • +Kibble from 2 to 15 mm; holds up to 12.6 cups
  • +Up to 12 meals a day, 1/8 cup to 4 cups per meal, set in the My PetSafe app, per the listing
  • +Slow Feed setting spreads meals larger than 1/8 cup over 15 minutes
  • +Opens only for the registered pet's microchip or the included RFID collar tag; stores 32 IDs, per the listing
  • +Reads 9-digit (Avid Secure), 10-digit (FDXA) and 15-digit (FDXB) microchips
  • +Lid unlocks for the cat wearing the included RFID collar tag, per the listing
  • +Timed and portioned: up to 10 meals a day, up to 48 portions each, set in the app
Key Cons
-No app, so you cannot change a meal while you are away
-The listing does not spell out the backup battery type
-No app, and 8 portions per meal caps a single meal at about 120 g
-The listing does not mention battery backup or a kibble size limit
-Not a timed feeder: you fill it and it controls who eats, not when; Sure Petcare says ideally one feeder per pet
-Works only with the included collar tag, not with an implanted microchip
 

For one cat or small dog on dry food, buy a timed feeder with battery backup, such as the PETLIBRO Granary; for a home where pets steal each other's food, buy a feeder that opens only for one pet, such as the SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder. Either way, a feeder only helps with weight if you know how much food one "portion" is.

How we chose: we did not test these feeders; we compared the portion sizes, power backup and kibble limits on each listing, and kept only feeders sold by Amazon.com or the brand's own store and in stock on September 28, 2026.

Six feeders side by side

Feeder Type Meals a day / portion size (per listing) Power backup Kibble size Sold by Amazon price
PETLIBRO Granary 5L, Button Timed 1–6 / 20 ml 3 D batteries Not stated Amazon.com $75.98 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC)
PETLIBRO Granary 5L, Wi-Fi Timed, app Up to 10 / 1/12 cup Battery alert; type not stated Not stated Amazon.com $79.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC)
WOPET 3L Timed Up to 6 / about 15 g Batteries (not included) 2–15 mm WOPET Intelligent $24.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:57 PM UTC)
PetSafe Smart Feed 6L Timed, app Up to 12 / 1/8 cup to 4 cups per meal Not stated Not stated Amazon.com $120.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC)
SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder Microchip or tag You fill it; holds 13.5 fl oz Not stated Wet or dry Amazon.com $199.00 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC)
PETLIBRO RFID Timed, collar tag Up to 10 / up to 48 portions Not stated Not stated Amazon.com $139.99 (Amazon, as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC)

Prices are Amazon's, as of the time shown, and subject to change. Details

WOPET also sells a 6L Wi-Fi feeder with up to 15 meals a day, 2 to 15 mm kibble and three D batteries as backup; its listing notes that Wi-Fi and the app only work on the adapter, with the batteries there to keep meals coming in an outage.

Why portions matter

Weight is why portion control matters. The Association for Pet Obesity Prevention's 2022 survey found that "59% of dogs and 61% of cats evaluated by veterinary professionals in the United States were classified as overweight or having obesity," and that "free-choice feeding, frequent treats, and inconsistent portion measurement remain common." Cornell's Feline Health Center says in its feeding guide that "obesity is the most common nutrition-related problem in cats, and makes cats susceptible to a number of health problems, including arthritis and diabetes."

A feeder is one of the tools vets name. AAHA's 2021 Nutrition and Weight Management Guidelines say "food-dispensing toys or automated feeders are useful to control food access and amount," and, for pets that need to lose weight, that "puzzle toys and automated feeders continue to be invaluable resources." The same guidelines list free-choice feeding and "food competition/social hierarchy" among the things that make a feeding plan hard to stick to.

How much your pet should eat is a question for your vet, who can work out a target weight and daily amount. Cornell puts it plainly: "Ask your veterinarian to help you determine the ideal body weight for your cat and follow their suggestions for adjusting your cat's diet." (More on why we say that.)

Tabby cat crouched on a tiled floor eating from the bowl of a white automatic feeder with a gray food hopper
A timed feeder drops a set number of portions; you still need to know what one portion weighs.

What a "portion" means on each feeder

No two feeders here use the same unit. The Granary button model counts 20 ml portions; the Granary Wi-Fi model counts 1/12 cup; the WOPET counts portions of about 15 g; PetSafe sets meals from 1/8 cup to 4 cups. All but the WOPET measure by volume, and a cup of one kibble does not weigh the same as a cup of another.

So before you program one, run a single portion into a bowl and weigh it on a kitchen scale. Multiply by the number of portions per meal and compare that with the daily amount your vet gave you or the feeding guide on the bag. Do it again whenever you change food.

Kibble size matters too. WOPET lists a range of 2 to 15 mm for both its 3L and 6L feeders; the other listings here do not state one, so ask the maker if your kibble is unusually small or large. The PETLIBRO Granary models have an infrared sensor that stops dispensing and sends an alert (Wi-Fi model) when the outlet is blocked. The timed feeders here are sold for dry food or do not mention wet food; the SureFeed is the only one listed for wet or dry.

Power cuts and Wi-Fi outages

A feeder that stops when the power goes out is a problem if you are away. The PETLIBRO Granary button model runs on USB-C with three D batteries as backup, and the WOPET 3L switches to backup batteries during outages, per its listing, which suggests running both power sources together. The Granary Wi-Fi model alerts you when its battery is low, but the listing does not name the battery. The PetSafe Smart Feed listing does not mention backup power at all.

App feeders add a second failure point. WOPET is explicit that its 6L feeder's Wi-Fi and app need the adapter; batteries only keep the schedule running. Test any feeder for a few days while you are home before you rely on it for a trip, and have someone who can check on your pet if you will be gone overnight.

Two cats eating dry food from the same white plate outdoors, a calico kitten on the left and a gray cat on the right
Two cats at one plate: a timed feeder cannot tell them apart, a microchip feeder can.

Microchip feeders for multi-cat homes

A timed feeder drops food; it does not decide who eats it. If one cat is on a prescription or weight-loss diet and another eats everything in reach, you need a feeder that locks.

The SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder reads your pet's implanted microchip (9-digit Avid Secure, 10-digit FDXA or 15-digit FDXB, per the listing) or a supplied RFID collar tag, and opens only for the pets you register. It stores up to 32 IDs, holds 13.5 fl oz of wet or dry food under a sealed lid, and Sure Petcare says it is "great for pets on prescription diets." Sure Petcare also says "ideally one feeder per pet." It is not timed: you fill it and it controls access, not mealtimes. A Connect version adds a built-in scale and app records, but needs a hub sold separately.

The PETLIBRO RFID Automatic Cat Feeder combines both jobs: a timed, portioned feeder whose lid unlocks only for the cat wearing the included collar tag. The listing says it supports only that tag, not implanted microchips, so it depends on the collar staying on.

If a pet is on a prescription diet, ask your vet whether the other pets can safely eat any of it and how to handle leftovers. Our grain-free dog food and DCM guide covers what to check on the food itself.

Feeders for dogs

Most of these feeders are sized for cats and small dogs. The WOPET 3L caps a meal at 8 portions of about 15 g, and the Granary models dispense in small steps. The PetSafe Smart Feed is the one to look at for a bigger dog: up to 4 cups per meal and a 24-cup hopper, and PetSafe says it is "best for cats and small to medium sized dogs." Its Slow Feed setting spreads a meal over 15 minutes for a dog that bolts its food; a slow feeder bowl is the simpler way to make a meal take longer.

A determined dog can knock over or chew a plastic feeder, and none of these listings claim to be chew-proof. Put it where the dog cannot tip it, and watch the first few meals. For a new dog's first-week gear, see our new puppy checklist.

Smiling husky looking up as a hand holds out a steel food bowl
For a large dog, check the maximum meal size on the listing before you buy.

Food and water together

A feeder is half the setup. Water is the other half: our cat water fountain guide covers what Cornell says about fountains and drinking, and our Catit Flower vs PETLIBRO fountain comparison compares two popular models on filters and cleaning. For a kitten's first bowls and food, see our new kitten checklist, and for the AAFCO growth statement to look for on the label, our kitten food guide.

Recalls

None of these brands appears on our pet product recall page, which tracks FDA and CPSC pet recalls from 2024 onward, and a search of the CPSC recall database on September 28, 2026 found no recall of automatic pet feeders.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are automatic feeders good for pets?

They can help with portion control. AAHA's 2021 guidelines call automated feeders useful for controlling how much a pet eats and a valuable tool for weight loss, as long as the portions are right.

What happens to an automatic feeder in a power outage?

It depends on the model. The PETLIBRO Granary button model and the WOPET 3L run on backup batteries, per their listings; the PetSafe Smart Feed listing does not mention backup power.

How do I stop one cat from eating another cat's food?

Use a feeder that opens for one pet only. The SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder reads an implanted microchip or a collar tag; the PETLIBRO RFID feeder reads its own collar tag.

Can automatic feeders dispense wet food?

Not the timed ones here; their listings are for dry food or do not mention wet food. The SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder holds wet or dry food under a sealed lid.

Proof

Sources

Everything this guide relies on, as linked in the text. Last checked September 28, 2026.

  1. petobesityprevention.org: 2022 survey
  2. vet.cornell.edu: Feeding your cat
  3. American Animal Hospital Association: 2021 Nutrition and Weight Management Guidelines
  4. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: CPSC recall database

PetProofLab is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. We did not test these feeders; specifications are the makers' own, from their listings. This guide is for general information and is not veterinary advice.

The picks

Our picks, in order

Ranked in the order we recommend them, from listings, certifications and standards. Where a price appears it is Amazon's, with the time it was read.

Head to head: Catit Flower vs PETLIBRO Cat Fountain (2026)
1

PETLIBRO Granary Automatic Pet Feeder, 5L, Button

From the listing · not tested

The timed feeder to buy for one pet on dry food if you want battery backup and no Wi-Fi.

Pros

  • + 1 to 6 meals a day, up to 50 portions of 20 ml each, set on the feeder's LED panel, per the listing
  • + USB-C adapter plus three D batteries (not included) as backup power
  • + Removable tank, lid, base and bowl; infrared sensor stops dispensing if the outlet is blocked; sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • - No app, so you cannot change a meal while you are away
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$75.98 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)
2

PETLIBRO Granary Automatic Pet Feeder, 5L, Wi-Fi

From the listing · not tested

The app version of the Granary, for owners who want feeding records and remote changes.

Pros

  • + Up to 10 meals a day and 1 to 48 portions of 1/12 cup each, set in the PETLIBRO app, per the listing
  • + 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz Wi-Fi; phone alerts when the tank is empty, food jams or the battery is low
  • + Twist-lock lid, desiccant bag and stainless steel bowl; sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • - The listing does not spell out the backup battery type
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$79.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)
3

WOPET Automatic Cat Feeder, 3L

From the listing · not tested

A small, low-cost timed feeder for a cat or small dog, with a stated kibble size range.

Pros

  • + Up to 6 meals a day and 8 portions per meal, about 15 g per portion, per the listing
  • + Kibble from 2 to 15 mm; holds up to 12.6 cups
  • + Adapter plus backup batteries (not included); WOPET suggests running both; sold by WOPET Intelligent, the brand's store

Cons

  • - No app, and 8 portions per meal caps a single meal at about 120 g
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$24.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:57 PM UTC (details)
4

PetSafe Smart Feed Automatic Pet Feeder, 6L

From the listing · not tested

The largest meals here, for a medium dog or a fast eater, if your home has reliable power.

Pros

  • + Up to 12 meals a day, 1/8 cup to 4 cups per meal, set in the My PetSafe app, per the listing
  • + Slow Feed setting spreads meals larger than 1/8 cup over 15 minutes
  • + Lid, hopper, bowl and bowl holder are top-rack dishwasher safe; sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • - The listing does not mention battery backup or a kibble size limit
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$120.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)
5

SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder

From the listing · not tested

The feeder for a multi-pet home where one pet is on a prescription or weight-loss diet.

Pros

  • + Opens only for the registered pet's microchip or the included RFID collar tag; stores 32 IDs, per the listing
  • + Reads 9-digit (Avid Secure), 10-digit (FDXA) and 15-digit (FDXB) microchips
  • + Holds 13.5 fl oz of wet or dry food under a sealed lid; three-year warranty; sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • - Not a timed feeder: you fill it and it controls who eats, not when; Sure Petcare says ideally one feeder per pet
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$199.00 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)
6

PETLIBRO RFID Automatic Cat Feeder

From the listing · not tested

A timed feeder with a locking lid, for a cat that wears its tag reliably.

Pros

  • + Lid unlocks for the cat wearing the included RFID collar tag, per the listing
  • + Timed and portioned: up to 10 meals a day, up to 48 portions each, set in the app
  • + App log shows who ate, when and how much; 3 L tank; sold by Amazon.com

Cons

  • - Works only with the included collar tag, not with an implanted microchip
Check Price on AmazonAdd to Cart$139.99 Amazon price as of Sep 28, 2026, 3:56 PM UTC (details)

Still comparing? Search Amazon

Today's Deals →

Quick searches, tagged so you support the site at no extra cost.

automatic pet feederautomatic cat feederautomatic dog feedermicrochip feedertimed feederportion controlpet obesity

Amazon prices and availability change often; cards with a live Amazon price show when it was last checked. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Keep reading

Keep reading